Welcome Back Purdue Students!

Hi folks! I know it has been forever since I posted a blog entry, but stuff happens!

With that being said, I would like to continue with a new topic: The Awesomeness of Purdue Students!

First though, I would like to say, “Thank You” to Mayor Tony, Mayor John, and Representative Sheila for their support at OUTFest. Unfortuantely, I was working and missed the speeches and the marriage proposal from my friend Day to M&M, but at least I saw video and got to see my friends in person after the joyous occasion! Congrats to you both!

And second, let’s give some much deserved recognition to Mayor John for his completely funny and informative TV show on YouTube. I have only watched 3 of 13 episodes, but they were all great and in the last one I watched he was wearing Batman swim trunks! It is funny folks, check it out. http://www.funwiththemayor.com.

Okay, let’s get back to the TRUE topic at hand: The Awesomeness of Purdue Students. . .

In Lafayette/West Lafayette, we always have two seasons: Students are here and students are not. For many of us, our lives are geared around the Purdue sessions. (when we can take vacation, when hours get cut, when traffic subsides, etc.) I admit, I love the breaks. Guess what? I LOVE the vibrancy of all the students here MORE and I cannot wait to have ENERGY injected into the community again! It is both delightful and a most welcome addition for me each year!

On this note, I would like to remind my co-workers and other people in the community that we are going to have a bunch of NEW students (many of which are from different countries) and that they do not know how things work and will have questions. Be nice and make them feel welcome. That is what our community is about. We have ALWAYS been nice to others and that is what makes our town GREAT!

I haven’t shared this story (I don’t think) with anyone other than Ham, Bacon, and Moon while we had dinner at Sylvia’s a few months ago, but I am going to share it now. . .

I was doing Inner Loop over Christmas break this past December or January and had a new international student get on the bus. She got on and I said, “Hello, how are you?” She said, “Good” or something and then we proceeded to others that I knew from Purdue Village and she heard their responses and our interactions. This started at Beering Hall. I looked in my mirror to make sure everyone was seated and saw this woman seated with “questions” on her face. (I know the feeling, so I get it.) Between Beering Hall and the next pedestrian crossing, she had approached me (apologetically) and asked if her response was “appropriate”. My question had been (when she entered the bus) “How are you?” Her answer was, “Good” or something similar, and she was so concerned about her response to that question that she then asked me if her answer was okay and I told her that her answer was fine, but we could work on BETTER options, if she wanted to. She was an eager learner, as most Purdue students are, so I gave her new “answering” options and told her we would “practice” at Lawson Hall.

Okay folks, here is how that went: I pulled up to Lawson and people got on. Then I asked the new international student to get off the bus and practice her “entry”. She wanted to, so it was great! Seriously, we did this. So she got off the bus and then entered and I said, “Hello! How are you?” and she said, “Awesome!” I then had her get off again and use a different word so that she would have a variety of responses. There were probably only 10-15 people on the bus, but EVERYONE enjoyed the experience. They had all been there (as international students) and enjoyed the FUN we had.

Be real and be nice. It is quite simple. 🙂

Standard

2 thoughts on “Welcome Back Purdue Students!

  1. Mom says:

    Enjoyed your topic. I’m proud to be the mom of such nice and engaging daughter. Isn’t it amazing how a little kindness can change your entire day, let alone how it impacts other people ‘s day! Keep smiling and being nice, it may become contagious 😃

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

