10:10 Sam’s Club!

First and foremost, I would like to wish Polo a most Happy Birthday! (it was yesterday, but I didn’t write this yesterday)  Also, to mom for bringing over chairs and serving dishes for my New Year’s Eve party.  I have never really hosted a party, so I needed some assistance in this matter.  I asked Ram what I should buy for snacks, asked ‘Z for what time it should start, asked Moon if she would teach me how to make lasagna (so we would have something substantial to eat, and also because she is the most awesome Italian cook ever!), and mom is filling in all of the blanks. (acceptable chairs for people to sit in, serving dishes, and general cleaning tomorrow!  Love you mom!)  🙂

Okay, here is what I really want to talk about:  How freaking awesome Sam’s Club is!  Especially at 10:10 on Sundays!  🙂

So a couple of days ago, I asked Moon what she was doing today and asked if she wanted to go to Sam’s Club.  She said yes and we decided to meet at 9:55 a.m. so that she could see the whole process of why Sam’s Club is much better at 10:10 a.m., rather that 10:00 a.m.!  Love it! She totally gets me! (She WANTED to see the process!)  She shows up early after Mass (a Catholic thing people do) and texts me while I am in Lowe’s (which is diagonal across the street of a most busy intersection and why I only go there when needed).  I purchase my new garbage disposal and save $16.75 and meet her at Sam’s with 15 minutes to spare.  We exchange shit and wait for the fun to begin.  (I had brought oregano from my garden for the lasagna, and we just waited while chatting and freezing.)

Yep!  At about 9:55 every efficient person in town showed up at Sam’s Club.  I was worried at 9:45 because no one was there, but they came thru!  So 10:00 rolls around and Moon says, “So we wait until 10:10?”.  I said, “No! We go in now so you can experience WHY 10:00 a.m. Sam’s Club is less efficient than 10:10 Sam’s Club!”  (Plus, we were freezing and needed to get inside)  Here is what happened: 50 or so people trying to get in Sam’s Club at the starting gate.  Carts were flying and the membership card-checker was in a frenzy.  (He did manage to catch someone making a return.  He is good at his job!)

Okay, so I pointed out the madness of initial efficiency opening and Moon got it.  We then meandered around and got our shit.  I did, however, point out to her that being there at 10 a.m. is essentially like having 50 extra service reps at your fingertips.  You see, every person at Sam’s that early also knows where everything is located.  Ask a question to a most efficient person (fellow customer), and you will also get a most efficient answer.

WHY is 10:10 a.m. on Sundays better than 10:00 a.m. at Sam’s Club?  Here is the reason: Those that “think” they are most efficient, show up at opening time, get their shit, and get out.  The problem is, there is a mad rush of “efficiency” and the lines get clogged with “efficient” shoppers.  Show up 10 minutes later and you are good to go!  No lines at check-out, (Moon should be able to attest to that) and all of the efficient peeps have left the parking lot and the non-efficient peeps have yet to get out of bed.  No traffic, no hassles, no line.

10:10 folks. If you oversleep, then 10:30 works too!  Sam’s PSA from Lisa concluded!  Hey! I am just trying to save everyone TIME!

Sidebar:  Last blog entry, I listed 7 of 8 Core Values and couldn’t remember the last one.  I also stated that I wasn’t taking the time to look it up on my blog to remember what it was.  Yep. The one I didn’t want to take the time to look up was TIME.  How fucking funny is that!  🙂

Standard

One thought on “10:10 Sam’s Club!

Leave a Reply

